Skip navigation

Do you have any idea how long it would have taken me to knit these?

Things I like about crochet:

1. It’s fast. Super duper fast.
2. Only one live stitch (less fear of dropping)
3. Much more bus-friendly (see #2)
4. It looks quaint and grandma-ish
5. Did I mention it’s fast?

Things I dislike about crochet:

1. It looks quaint and grandma-ish
2. … it looks quaint and grandma-ish?
3. No, seriously – I know there’s some pretty awesome, modern crochet out there. It’s something inside my head, the moment I notice the distinctive crochet stitches I just see afghans. It’s not the crochet, it’s me.

Then again, that’s unfair. I don’t really think all crochet looks like afghans. I know some pretty awesome crocheters (is that a word?) that make some beautiful pieces. It’s just not really my style… yet ;-) However, if I liked the look of it more I would probably switch over exclusively.

These squares, though?

Definitely my cup of tea.

edited:  for clarity

8 Comments

  1. I love crochet for much the same reasons you give. To counter the grandma-ish arguments can I point you towards the cuteness of arigurumi and the glamour of Stitch Diva designs. Crochet can be gorgeous and it can be funky, you just need to do it right.

    • katy
    • Posted April 7, 2009 at 07:25
    • Permalink

    Oh, I totally agree with you. I think amigurumi are the funniest/cutest things ever, and there’s definitely some in my queue.

    I also know a lovely lady who makes beautiful crocheted tops and sweaters, and they look wonderful on her. It’s just not really my personal style, for garments. I can’t really identify why… just a personal preference.

    Then again, I have seen some patterns in the newer issues of interweave crochet that have turned my head… so perhaps you’ll see me contradict myself sometime soon and crochet a sweater! I’ve been known to flip-flop :)

    • preita
    • Posted April 7, 2009 at 08:42
    • Permalink

    OMG I’m totally in love with your squares! The colors are fantastic!

    • katy
    • Posted April 7, 2009 at 09:34
    • Permalink

    Malabrigo makes me melt. Something about their colours. I realize this is the yarn equivalent as declaring Brad Pitt attractive (i.e. DUH) but it’s the truth.

    Although, I just realized that I only have enough scraps on hand to make 11-12 squares, and I’m probably going to need 40-60 or something to make this thing… which was always the plan, but now that I’m this far into it… I want to finish!

    Watch me make excuses for a lot of Malabrigo hats in the coming months. LOL

  2. Now I’m wishing for some tasty yarn leftovers to make something out of! My leftovers are all sorts of odds and ends, but a granny-square quilt is a fantastic idea for using them up.

    That’s going to be one cosy, beautiful blanket!

    • katy
    • Posted April 7, 2009 at 13:01
    • Permalink

    Yeah, that’s kind of the great thing about it. I figured I had enough of each skein left to do multiple, solid squares (although, watch my inner perfectionist squirm when it comes to laying them out, seeing as I’ll have anywhere from 1-4 of each colour). But you could totally do it random, where each row of the granny square was a different colour… and then it wouldn’t matter how mis-matchy it was, or how much of each yarn you have.

    Do it! It’s so fun!

  3. Your entire post has been copied and put on this site:

    http://oyaci.co.cc/behold

    I had some help from wordpress support in getting my photos removed from that site, but have not been able to get the content off that site yet.

    • katy
    • Posted April 10, 2009 at 18:47
    • Permalink

    Laura – checked it out but the link didn’t lead anywhere. Thanks for the heads-up though :)


Leave a Reply

