Skip navigation

Hello, my name is Katy and I’m a granny-square-a-holic.

I’m not even 100% sure I’m doing it right, but I don’t care because it looks okay. This is such a change for me, seeing as I’m a terribly neurotic perfectionist knitter. But if it looks okay, it can’t be wrong, right?

(Well… okay, the perfectionist in me wants to know if I AM doing it right… but, seeing as I’m already working on my fourth square, I probably wouldn’t fix it if I wasn’t.)

Any hookers out there reading? If so, let me know… and I’ll explain where I suspect I might be going wrong.

3 Comments

    • preita
    • Posted April 6, 2009 at 11:32
    • Permalink

    I want to learn how to crochet better. as is I’m kind of bad about understanding the patterns & have yet to make a sucessful grany square. Though I want to! What pattern are you using?

    • katy
    • Posted April 6, 2009 at 20:57
    • Permalink

    This is the pattern I’m working from:

    Traditional Granny Square – Rav Link
    Traditional Granny Square – PDF link

    I find the instructions fairly easy to follow, but I got stuck on a few parts (such as where and how exactly to start the second row. Instructions for multi-coloured GS’s are useless because you can start the row anywhere.) I ended up surfing through various youtube instructional videos… there was one by a guy that showed how he started the row: he flipped the square around each time. I’m not sure if that’s right, but it looks okay!

    • katy
    • Posted April 6, 2009 at 20:59
    • Permalink

    This was the video that shows the flip at the start of a new row.


Leave a Reply

