Skip navigation

The knitting’s been a bit slow-going lately so I haven’t had much to write about. I really wish more people would sign the petition for a 26 hour day.

I was working on my Bird in Hand mittens tonight (which, due to two consecutive warm days, I’ve finally admitted will not be done in time to actually wear this season) but got a bit frustrated with how slow-going they are. In a moment of frustration, I decided to take a break, pick  up my crochet hook and give it a go.

Wow. Fun!

I successfully (I think?) taught myself single, double, and triple crochet. I made a cute little 2 row double crochet circle. I then tried to graduate to granny squares, but got a bit mixed up. Regardless, I had fun.

I’m suddenly hatching this ridiculous plan: Wouldn’t it be great to make a granny square afghan out of Malabrigo? Each time I’ve made a project with Malabrigo Worsted, I’ve ended up with quite a bit left over… I think I have 4 colourways and counting. I wonder how many squares I could get out of each colour? My guess is 2, or perhaps even 3? How many yards does one granny square take? How many colours would I need to make an afghan?

This could totally be a project that takes years to complete, as I gather more and more scraps of Malabrigo from various other projects. It would be soft and warm and smooshy and ALL MINE and I would love it. LOVE IT.

What do you think… am I nuts? Or would a Malabrigo granny square afghan be the coolest use of leftover scrap stash ever?

ETA:  OMG figured out the granny square and I’m in love. I will definitely get at least 2 or 3 from the amount I have of each colourway. That meas I have 8-12 squares in my stash basket already. And all the more motivation to knit with Malabrigo in the future…

5 Comments

  1. A 26 hour day? I think I’d rather petition for a 3 or 4 day work week (with pay for 5 of course)!

    • Lynette
    • Posted April 6, 2009 at 07:33
    • Permalink

    I fully support the granny square afghan idea The blankets/throws that Oma crocheted for me are some of my favourite! Although she made them out of those little standard crochet squares that are at the very very beginning of any “How to Crochet” book… Are those granny squares? I looked on Ravelry for an example to link you, but not a single pattern like that came up (well not on the first twenty pages at least).

    • katy
    • Posted April 6, 2009 at 09:29
    • Permalink

    Jackie – you’re SO RIGHT.

    Lynette – yeah, I like the charm of the granny afghans :) Plus, there’s something nice about crochet, being so dense and warm and yet hole-y and breathable… and yes, we’re talking pretty standard squares. “Granny squares” look like they can get quite complicated but the most basic ones (i.e. the ones I’m doing) look like this:

    • Lynette
    • Posted April 6, 2009 at 21:10
    • Permalink

    So I went looking for a picture of a blanket like the one Oma made me, thinking they’d be totally standard and everywhere… and I can’t find a single one!
    But upon further research I can tell you that it is made up of oodles of 2×2″ squares of double stitch (really plain and simple), in all different colours.

    I’ll have to take a picture tomorrow :) I wonder if I’m allowed to put up a picture on Ravelry of something I didn’t make?

    • katy
    • Posted April 7, 2009 at 05:53
    • Permalink

    Of course you are! As long as you took the photograph, you can do whatever you like! Although, with honesty being the best policy and all, it’d probably be wise to credit your grandma in the project notes :) You can list it as an “inspiration project”

    I’m excited to see it!


Leave a Reply

