Skip navigation

So remember this post, in which I said I would never again knit a baby garment in fingering weight?

Well…

Baby Yours by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee

Some might call me a flip-flopper. I prefer to think I’m willing to admit it when I’m wrong.

I forgot to mail the wee baby raglan cardigan. Again. Suddenly, I realized that by the time it arrived the nearly-ten-pound baby would be a month old and the likelihood of it fitting was as small as the sweater itself. If her parents liked it, I wouldn’t want them feeling badly about not being able to put her into my handiwork. If they were indifferent, I wouldn’t want it going to the thrift store without ever warming my newest relation. So, I decided to do damage control and cast on something new.

However, to prove I’m not a total flip-flopper, I couldn’t bear to go out and buy yet another skein of yarn, considering how much I acquired in January. Pawing through my stash basket, the only thing that stuck out as appropriate was this skein of Dream in Color Smooshy sock yarn:

Dream in Color Smooshy in Petal Shower

I genuinely can’t explain how obsessed I am with this colourway. It looks like deliciously melted Neapolitan ice cream. It’s pink but the brown makes it not too girly. I freaking heart this yarn, all right, and my newest little first-cousin-once-removed will be wearing it by month’s end if I kill myself in the process.

Well, maybe not kill. But I might damage my pinkie again.

The obvious choice was to try making Baby Yours again, and I’m enjoying it so much more this time around. It’s a billion times better in this colourway… probably because the check pattern reminds me of a waffle cone, adding to this whole ice cream image I’ve woven up in my imagination. I’m seriously obsessed.

So, it looks like you’re still going to have a lot of in progress photos for the next month, rather than FOs.

Sorry!

PS: I’ve been updating the new photography blog lots – go check it out!

2 Comments

  1. You’re not a flip flopper at all!

    And you’re right…it looks exactly like ice cream! YUM!

    • katy
    • Posted March 11, 2009 at 22:15
    • Permalink

    I wish I could eat it, seriously.


Leave a Reply

