Skip navigation

Just a quick post before bed to give you a peek at what I’ve been up to…

First, I never did post a proper finished photo of the Raglan Baby Cardigan I was working on. It turned out cute, but it’s very, very small. Doesn’t help that my cousin had a nine pound baby – I’m not sure it’s going to fit! But I’m going to mail it anyway because, well, why not?

Raglan Baby Cardigan by Debbie Bliss

Raglan Baby Cardigan by Debbie Bliss

Made with Mission Falls 136 Merino Superwash

Made with Mission Falls 136 Merino Superwash

I suppose it would have helped if I’d actually gotten it in the mail two weeks ago.

After I finished up the sweater, and the thumbs on the Fetchings, I cast on a pair of Those Mitts by Leslie Friend. I just wanted a simple mitt with a thumb gusset, as that was the one pattern feature I felt was lacking on the Fetchings. Well, it turned out to be lacking here as well… I modified the pattern quite a bit in order to get the sort of gusset I was hoping for (following the curve of the thumb all the way down to the wrist). Luckily, it wasn’t too hard to figure that out.

I’m gifting these ones as well, but I’m dying to make myself something in the same colourway. Gorgeous.

Those Mitts by Leslie Friend

Those Mitts by Leslie Friend

Malabrigo Merino Worsted in Oceanos

Malabrigo Merino Worsted in Oceanos

Still some finishing to do... oh, and the other mitten.

Still some finishing to do... oh, and the other mitten.

But of course, I couldn’t simply finish these ones. No, something far more complicated was calling me…

Bird in Hand by Kate Gilbert.

Bird in Hand by Kate Gilbert in Mission Falls 136 Superwash Merino

Bird in Hand in Mission Falls 136 Superwash Merino

And so now, I have to go.

I have some knitting to do.

5 Comments

    • Jenny
    • Posted March 2, 2009 at 11:54
    • Permalink

    Love the baby sweater!!! Was it hard? I am thinking of attempting that for our baby due in August, but sweaters scare me! haha

    • katy
    • Posted March 2, 2009 at 13:42
    • Permalink

    Jenny – No, it is SO easy to make. Really. In fact, it’s a great project for learning a few new skills. It’s knit in pieces, so really you just need to know (or learn) how to:

    cast on, knit, purl :)
    increase (m1)
    decrease (k2tog, ssk)
    YO (buttonholes)
    mattress stitch (seaming)
    pick up stitches (for the buttonband)

    When I made my first one of these, I didn’t know how to pick up stitches, seam (properly), or ssk. I think I learned all of these skills by watching the videos on knittinghelp.com

    Do it! Raglan sweaters are super cute on babies :)

    • Korena
    • Posted March 2, 2009 at 19:41
    • Permalink

    Those Bird in Hand mittens are going to be SO PRETTY! I wish I wasn’t such a ham-fisted knitter…

    • katy
    • Posted March 2, 2009 at 22:01
    • Permalink

    Korena – Practice, practice, practice :)

    • Jenny
    • Posted March 3, 2009 at 16:50
    • Permalink

    Great! I know how to do all of those things except pick up stitches (actually, I may have done that once before, I can’t remember) and a mattress stitch. I might try it :)


Leave a Reply

