Skip navigation

Remember the pay-it-forward game I mentioned in my gift post?

Well, with my first recipient in mind, I decided to turn a ridiculously pretty skein of Malabrigo into a pair of Fetchings.

Pattern:  Fetching by Cheryl Niamath

Pattern: Fetching by Cheryl Niamath

Malabrigo Merino Worsted - Velvet Grapes

Yarn: Malabrigo Merino Worsted in Velvet Grapes

I had a lot of fun with this pattern, and the only modification I made was to double the amount of cable repeats at both the wrist (from 3 to 6, for length) and the knuckles (from 1 to 2, for look). It was a fast, easy project and all those little cable knots are so cute – I really understand why 10,000+ people on Ravelry have made these little mitts. I really only had one complaint, and that’s the thumb: why no thumb gusset? It would be so much more comfortable.

See the thumb pulling? Not the most comfortable design element.

See the thumb pulling? Not the most comfortable design element.

The yarn ended up pooling in a really cool way. Excuse the poor photo, but it’s for illustrative purposes only:

Spiral pooling

Spiral pooling

I’m not sure Malabrigo is the best choice for this pattern – I think the stitch definition could be much better. But they’ll be very cozy so I think it was worth that sacrifice. Ravelry project page is here.

Now I just need to block them and put them in the mail! One down, five to go :)

2 Comments

  1. They’re gorgeous and I love the way they knit up! The malabrigo will make them warm and toasty!

    • katy
    • Posted March 1, 2009 at 08:38
    • Permalink

    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

