Skip navigation

It’s pretty hard to render me speechless, but I definitely fumbled for words upon receiving this beautiful gift tonight.

Eeee! I love surprises! Isnt it beautiful?

Eeee! I love surprises! Isn't it beautiful?

This seriously made my weekend.

A while back I participated in this little pay-it-forward type of game on Facebook. Someone offered to make something for the first five people that responded to their note. I responded, and then turned around and offered to do the same for five others, per the rules of the game.

The gift can be anything you want, as long as you make it yourself, and as long as you make it with the recipient specifically in mind. Of course, my gifts will be knitted – duh. I have the first one finished and the second on the way. I’m so excited to send them!

But one lovely lady offered a trade rather than a pay-it-forward, which was totally fine in my books. Imagine my surprise when she beat me to the punch! And with a teething baby to care for, to boot. I’m beyond impressed. Seriously, look at this work!

Travelling Fern Lace Scarf (I think?) - click for pattern page

Travelling Fern Lace Scarf (I think?) - click for pattern page

I’m thrilled. And, do you want to hear the best part? She’s in Vancouver visiting from Montreal, and couldn’t get out to deliver it, so her husband was kind enough to drive over and give it to me. Her husband who also knits/crochets. What a catch, eh?

Thanks, Rachael!

5 Comments

  1. That is such a gorgeous scarf, you lucky girl! Aren’t crafty people the best?

  2. What a beautiful scarf and it looks fantastic on you!

  3. You make it look good, lovely lady! Glad you like it.

    And it is indeed the Travelling Fern lace scarf – thank goodness for Ravelry so I could rifle your favourites list! The yarn is Fiddlesticks laceweight in indigo, which appears to be a smashing colour on you.

    I meant to include a note saying that you can re-block the sides to make them more wavy rather than pointy if it so suits your fancy. I was undecided on that point (hah!) when blocking it.

    Glad to have improved your weekend! Your poor little phone…

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted February 26, 2009 at 11:24
    • Permalink

    Yay! Is the fact that I recognized both the pattern AND the yarn a sign that I’ve entered a new level of knitting-obsession?

    I wouldn’t have been able to name the colourway, so I guess I’m only a green or blue belt knitter :)

    I love it just the way it is! But maybe one day will play with blocking it to mix it up a little. I wore it to photography class the other night and made people photograph me wearing it… there is a huge photographic record of it now!

  4. that is very cool – beautiful work!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By fetching « b i t c h n s t i t c h e s on 28 Feb 2009 at 12:07 pm

    […] pay it forward, photography, ravelry, yarn Remember the pay-it-forward game I mentioned in my gift […]

Leave a Reply

