Skip navigation

I’m almost done my first pair of socks!

Plain Vanilla Sock pattern by Keri McKiernan

Plain Vanilla Sock pattern by Keri McKiernan in Estelle Arequipa (209)

Like I mentioned last night, I just have to Kitchener the toe and then they’ll be finished (after many months of hibernation.)

Now the question: What to do with them?

I think the reason I lost my steam on this project is simply that I have no interest in the finished product. Nine times out of ten I’d rather be barefoot. I’m well known for pulling off my socks and leaving them littered all over the apartment. I can’t stand my feet being covered while I’m sleeping, especially – if I try to wear socks in bed I invariably pull them off in my sleep.

Of course, I do wear socks with shoes, but I’m a fan of the plain white sport anklet variety, of which I own about 40 identical pairs so as to avoid the headache of matching. Other than a smattering of specialty socks (hiking, snowboarding) I really have no variety in my sock drawer. And I like it that way.

I see the appeal of the sock as a knitting project – small, cute, just enough difficulty to keep you interested – but unless I find a close family member or friend who expresses a deep and undying love of knitted socks I think this may be the last pair you see from me for a while.

Click here to visit the Ravelry project page

Click here to visit the Ravelry project page

Then again, I do want to learn toe-up…

2 Comments

    • Lara
    • Posted March 4, 2009 at 11:15
    • Permalink

    I loved your socks! :)

    • katy
    • Posted March 4, 2009 at 12:40
    • Permalink

    Yay! So glad :)


Leave a Reply

