Skip navigation

Apologies for the lengthy absence. I’m happy to report that my pinkie is feeling relaxed and rejuvenated from her little vacation, and more knitting will be showcased here in the coming weeks.

On Sunday I sat down, determined to plow through a few of my unfinished projects. Some progress was made on the scarf, though it’s still a long-time coming. I think that scarf will be my February goal – do you think I can do it? (Hint – I work better under pressure…)

I also picked up the cardigan, suddenly feeling silly for ever planning on ripping it back. I decided it would be smartest to simply finish it, seeing as I was only about an hour’s knitting time away, and then to try it on and see how I felt about it.

Well… well. Maybe I’m nitpicking, but I’m just not happy with it. The sleeves feel too little, and thus the raglan decreasing is WAY too close to my shoulders, instead of being a nice diagonal line from my armpit to my neck. I did figure out a very cute and clever way to mitigate that (which resulted in some cute shoulder shaping – I’ll take a picture before I rip it out) but altogether I’m not happy. I think I’m going to have to rip it all the way back to the sleeves, and then figure it out from there. Perhaps I’ll craft new sleeves, with a few more stitches in each? Or perhaps I’ll do a few rounds omitting the raglan decreases on the sleeve-sides of the markers, before commencing the proper decrease pattern? Who knows. But I just don’t want to put this thing on and feel annoyed with it.

And on that note… I’m feeling a little miffed with the designer. I’m not expecting perfection from a free pattern, but at least put up a disclaimer or SOMETHING, you know, just to let your knitters know that you’ve decided to write it up in hieroglyphics. There are just too many errors in this pattern, and to be left to my own devices right at the last (and most complicated) part? After putting in all that work? Give me a break. And no, she never responded to my very kind inquiry, so I don’t really feel badly about slamming her here. I just think this reflects poorly on her reputation, I’m not sure I would ever purchase a pattern from her in the future. On the other hand… it’s so damn cute!

Ultimately, my big day of knitting resulted in very little worth photographing. So, in lieu of fibre photos, I give you, Katy’s First Ever Successful Loaves of Bread*!

recipe

recipe

yeast

yeast

flour

flour

pre-rising

pre-rising

post-rising

post-rising

pre-baking

pre-baking

baked!

Unfortunately it just kind of tastes like… white bread. Which isn’t my favourite thing. But hey, have to start somewhere. At least it rose this time.

* I tried this four days ago, but it didn’t rise. Bread is persnickety.

8 Comments

  1. I’m very impressed with the bread, whenever I have made it it has tasted like leaden wallpaper paste, so you should be pretty pleased with it actually tasting like bread!

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted February 4, 2009 at 09:00
    • Permalink

    Thanks! Yeah… I’m not sure. I’ve never particularly liked the taste of home-baked white bread. I wonder if maybe it has to do with the yeast content? This recipe called for a little more than the last one I tried (which is why I used it… the last time I tried it didn’t rise at all, though I think that may have been my fault.)

    I don’t eat a lot of white bread, but I do like it on occasion (a good baguette or french loaf… yum.) It would be nice if I could make it taste like that!

    I consider this a jumping off point. I managed to master the yeast/rising/baking stage. Now for the tasty stage…

    • silencepainter
    • Posted February 4, 2009 at 09:33
    • Permalink

    Home baked bread is just awesome.

    I’m glad to hear your pinkie is doing better!

    • preita
    • Posted February 4, 2009 at 12:12
    • Permalink

    you probably killed the yeast if it didn’t rise. It’s an easy thing to do.

    You should get the book 5 minute artisan bread. It’s the most fantastic book on the face of the earth & ensures that I have fresh bread in my house every single day. :)

    • preita
    • Posted February 4, 2009 at 12:13
    • Permalink

    also, organic co-ops are great places to get bulk flour (that isn’t just white enriched flour). for way cheaper.

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted February 4, 2009 at 13:16
    • Permalink

    preita – it’s funny you mention that, I posted this on my Facebook and within ten minutes someone had recommended that book!

    And if I keep this up, I will definitely start frequenting the bulk food stores again!

    PS – how do you “kill” yeast? Because I bet you’re right, I probably did. Either that, or didn’t let it hang out with the water/sugar long enough?

    PPS – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qeuLPuXofOw

  2. Bread looks delicious and the cartoon is hysterical!

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted February 10, 2009 at 11:23
    • Permalink

    Susie – thanks! It didn’t really taste quite as good as it looked, unfortunately :(


Leave a Reply

