Skip navigation

My pinkie still hurts. My wrist as well. I think it might take a while for it to feel better, considering how much I have to type at work.

I don’t think a typing hiatus is possible.

This forced knitting break has been good for me, though. I realize now that I haven’t gone more than a day or two without knitting in four months. It really has become an obsession, but I’m not sure if it’s a positive one. I think I’ve been using it as a bit of a crutch.

After going through some really challenging times, I realized how calming and meditative I find knitting. It gives me something simple to focus on, and yet allows me to feel productive. I can let my mind wander freely, without focusing on my thoughts. I don’t have to worry while I’m knitting. It’s perfect, really.

On the other hand, I think I’ve let it sneak a little too far into my life. I miss curling up and watching a movie without having to sit up and count stitches. I miss being able to turn the lights down low. I miss reading – I used to read all the time. I haven’t picked up my guitar in six months.

I’ve lost balance.

Ultimately, what I’ve realized this week is that I’m not in love with knitting. I love it, but I’m not in love with it. What I’ve been obsessed with isn’t just the activity but the escape it’s provided. But there comes a time when you need to splash some cold water on your face and decide to stop trying to get away.

This week, I feel better. This week, I don’t want to escape anymore. There are a few other things in my life that mean so much more to me, and I would really like to refocus my time and energy accordingly.

This is not to say that knitting doesn’t matter. This is not to say that I don’t love knitting. This is not a declaration that I will shut down this blog and only make a garter stitch scarf now and then. No.

It is, however, a statement that I’m going to scale things back a bit. Dial it down from full-blown obsession to frequently-indulged hobby.

I’m going to revise my knitting intentions for this year. I’m going to simplify. There will still be plenty of content here, but there will be much more rich and diverse content in my life.

And that’s what really matters.

Stay tuned – more developments will be reported in the coming weeks.

8 Comments

  1. sounds like you DO need a well deserved break, or at least a scale down.

  2. Sometimes our bodies find a way to tell us what we won’t listen to otherwise. You obviously needed bring variety back into your life and your body found a way of making you do it.

    I’m glad you aren’t going to abandon the needles, but I believe that the knitting you do will be enriched and enjoyed more because of indulging in your other interests.

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted January 26, 2009 at 09:52
    • Permalink

    “Sometimes our bodies find a way to tell us what we won’t listen to otherwise.”

    I totally agree. I’m also a big believer that stress causes illness, which is just another expression of this.

    I think variety and balance are key. If I had to pick a motto, it would be “everything in moderation, including moderation.” I think I just took a bit too much liberty with the latter part of that statement, recently.

  3. Knitting (or anything else) should enhance your life. Not take it over. Hope you feel better soon and what a great thing that you’ve had this realization!

    • silencepainter
    • Posted January 26, 2009 at 20:35
    • Permalink

    I hope you find that balance your looking for. :)

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted January 26, 2009 at 22:15
    • Permalink

    Thanks everyone :)

    The upside is, after this break, I’m also RIDICULOUSLY excited for knit night on Thursday. Absence makes the heart grow fonder…

  4. Oh, you must pick up the guitar – if only for a little while. :) I hope things are better for you now.

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted January 29, 2009 at 08:39
    • Permalink

    I’m going to tonight! I heard a new song today I’m dying to try to learn… :)


Leave a Reply

