Skip navigation

I have a knitting injury.

For the past few weeks, one of the knuckles on my right pinky finger has been bothering me. The one closest to my palm. I’m not sure why, as my pinky does the least amount of work?

I’m suddenly freaked out by this, as my family has a pretty awful history of arthritis. I’m not succumbing to hypochondria, only remembering how annoying life seems like it can be when your hands won’t work properly.

So, after I put the last side seam in the baby sweater today, I’m going to put down the knitting.

Until knit night on Thursday, anyway.

I’ll reevaluate after that.

Stay tuned though – I may have to stop knitting for a spell, but there’s no way I’ll stop typing anytime soon.

7 Comments

  1. My hands will hurt from time to time after bouts of serious knitting. I always worry about arthritis and carpel tunnel so I make sure to rest plenty and stretch both before and after knitting. Things tend to act up when I’m knitting especially tiny things.

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted January 19, 2009 at 16:08
    • Permalink

    I think it’s just the non-stop factor… I used to be sort of on and off, but I’ve been knitting nonstop since November… and I’m sure all the typing (especially at work) doesn’t make it any better…

    I’ll just focus on photography and reading this week, instead :)

  2. If you’re like me, this will be when you’re going to want to knit the most! Hope the little pinky is better soon!

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted January 19, 2009 at 19:48
    • Permalink

    Jackie – so true! Although, I think I actually needed a bit of a break – I was burning out.

  3. I had that when I first started knitting non stop. I found that the culprit was holding the yarn too tightly with my pinky. i relaxed my grip and that helped a lot.

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted January 20, 2009 at 18:52
    • Permalink

    Yes, it’s definitely something to do with either the way I hold my yarn, or the way I hold my needles. Interestingly, I really only drape my yarn lightly over my pinky, I don’t have a very elaborate yarn-hold and it’s certainly not taut. I almost wonder if maybe the problem isn’t so much gripping a particular thing, but just holding my pinky firmly in the same stationary position for too long?

    This will require further analysis. I’m going to have to put in some SERIOUS effort not to succumb to the knitting temptation, tonight.

  4. Oh no! I hope you feel better soon! I know that after all the Christmas knitting my hands were hurting too, so I took a couple of nights off and it worked pretty well. I also stretch my fingers (yes, I know it’s strange) and wrists before and after knitting and though I’m not sure it helps, it makes me feel better as I *think* it does. ;)


Leave a Reply

