Skip navigation

I missed my Christmas goal by one project. It was sort of sad, actually, considering it was the one project that I had planned on making all along. I couldn’t stomach the idea of not giving it, so at the last minute I decided to wrap up the two inches I had knitted, needles, balls of yarn and the pattern, and give it anyway.

Vegan Wrapped in Bacon by Robyn Wade

Vegan Wrapped in Bacon by Robyn Wade (click for pattern)

My brother unwrapped it, laughed (thankfully), and handed it back to me to finish.

I might have to exercise a little discipline in order to complete the project before his birthday… which is in June. It’s a cute scarf, but it’s the least fun I’ve had knitting in a while. I’ve never tried double knitting before. It’s a neat technique to create a reversible image, but it essentially means you’re knitting two scarves instead of one. On top of that, I’m finding it really difficult to get up any speed due to the constant twisting and tangling of the yarn. If anyone has any tips to avoid that, please let me know.

This blog is making it quite evident that I am a product knitter (as opposed to a process knitter.) I really should work on that… but I do love a good finished object.

Still, this one may be a long time coming. Sorry, bro.

Cascade 220 - 2413 &  8505

Cascade 220 - 2413 & 8505

Click here to visit the Ravelry project page

Click here to visit the Ravelry project page

3 Comments

  1. That’s ok, It’ll be worth it when it shows up ;-)

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted December 29, 2008 at 10:54
    • Permalink

    Hehe… I feel bad, this probably sounded more annoyed than I meant it. All knitting is fun. This is just very slow knitting, and all the tangling makes me irrationally angry, lol.

  2. Well, I love how you gave it to him, plus it looks like it will be gorgeous and well worth the wait. :)


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. By weekend update « b i t c h n s t i t c h e s on 17 Jan 2009 at 11:02 am

    […] Tagged baby, knit, knitting, merino, Mission Falls, ravelry, superwash, sweater, yarn My knitting goal for the next two weeks is to finish the scarf. […]

  2. By back at it « b i t c h n s t i t c h e s on 03 Feb 2009 at 4:00 pm

    […] I sat down, determined to plow through a few of my unfinished projects. Some progress was made on the scarf, though it’s still a long-time coming. I think that scarf will be my February goal – do you […]

Leave a Reply

