Skip navigation

This is a Christmas project I finished a few weeks ago:

Turn a Square by Jared Flood

Turn a Square by Jared Flood in Mission Falls 1840

It was a quick, fun knit. I know I didn’t do the pattern justice with my yarn choice – using a combination of self-striping and solid yarns, as instructed, would have given a completely different look. But I think the boy will wear and enjoy this. Maybe one day in the future I’ll execute the pattern as directed.

The instructions say to use the “jogless jog” technique in order to prevent a jump in the stripes as you move from round to round:

Not exactly jogless...

Not exactly 'jogless'...

I’m fairly certain I did this correctly, but I’m not sure how well it turned out.

The last inch or two gave me a bit of stress, as it seemed I might run out of yarn:

Yikes!

Yikes!

Once I wove in my ends, that’s how much I had left!

This definitely isn’t my favourite wool. I really enjoyed the look and feel of it in the store, and it was nice enough to knit with, but it started pilling while I was working with it. The colours are attractive, and it’s nice that it’s superwash, but we’ll see how it wears. Also, I am loath to say this, lest I insult someone (for one reason or another)… but, it sort of feels like acrylic. I don’t really mean that as a negative criticism, it just… does. Which is a bit strange.

But luckily, it all worked out.

Click here for the Ravelry project page

Click here to visit the Ravelry project page

2 Comments

    • preita
    • Posted December 24, 2008 at 10:43
    • Permalink

    It looks awesome. Great job. It’s hard to make man knits and still have them be interesting :) I think you did a great job on both accounts ;)

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted December 24, 2008 at 15:44
    • Permalink

    I think it’s the general aversion to colour and embellishment :)


Leave a Reply

