Skip navigation

Knit Night became Knit Day last weekend, as we all decided to meet up on Saturday morning for a supplemental session. I really love how laid-back and spontaneous our little group is.

One of our group founders was kind enough to bring along her swift and ball winder, at my request, so I could take care of the seven unwound skeins that had magically appeared in my cupboard.

Swift

Swift

Ball winder

Ball winder

Dont make the customers dizzy, please.

Don't make the customers dizzy, please.

If I continue knitting at this rate, I will either need to:

A) remember to politely ask to have my yarn wound at the LYS

B) begin to enjoy winding yarn by hand (unlikely)

or

C) invest in my own ball winder and swift (expensive!)

I suppose I should also consider option D: offer small bribes for my group members to pack theirs to Knit Night now and then. This makes me a little uncomfortable, though. I’m all for sharing, but I really dislike asking people to do me favours, or feeling like I’m taking advantage of someone else’s investment.

Hours saved... what a blessing.

Hours saved... what a blessing.

In any case, Knit Day was a resounding success. My seven balls of yarn are wound, my present for the boy is on the needles, and vibrant conversation was had. There were even carolers!

Carolers

Carolers

Hold still ladies...

Hold still ladies...

Singing action shots!

Singing action shots!

Though they were very difficult to take a flattering picture of.

In addition to all the freshly wound yarn, I also picked up a few more skeins at the LYS on Friday night, all with Christmas presents in mind:

Mission Falls - Superwash Merino

Mission Falls - Superwash Merino

Mission Falls - Superwash Merino

Mission Falls - Superwash Merino

Malabrigo - Merino Worsted in Azul Profundo

Malabrigo - Merino Worsted in Azul Profundo

Malabrigo - Merino Worsted in Velvet Grapes

Malabrigo - Merino Worsted in Velvet Grapes

So now I really do have a cupboard full of yarn – and, despite my intentions for a homemade Christmas, it still makes me feel a tad guilty of consumerism. The want-monster comes out in full-force in the presence of fine yarn, and the trendiness of Malabrigo makes me smart a little. But if there is one thing I can say for yarn, and knitting, it is this: generally speaking, as cost and trendiness goes up, so does quality. This isn’t true of most things you might find in a mall.

As I’m not a believer in hoarding, or in caving to my want-monster, I’ve decided that I’m definitely only comfortable stashing with specific projects in mind. Further, I’m only comfortable stashing for as many projects I can make in the foreseeable future. Essentially, this means that I can’t buy any yarn until about February… after my cardigan is off the needles and I have the pink Yarn Sprout yarn on them.

I think I’d like to make a cowl from that pretty pink skein – stay tuned for a poll to help me decide on a pattern!

4 Comments

    • jenny
    • Posted December 8, 2008 at 17:18
    • Permalink

    I bought a skein of that velvet grapes yarn a couple months ago! It’s so pretty!

    • jenny
    • Posted December 8, 2008 at 17:20
    • Permalink

    oh, I didn’t know it was trendy…is it? I am so clueless to that kind of stuff when it comes to yarn and knitting! haha

    I am like you though, I’ve really been trying to consume less and only what I need, but around yarn I turn into a yarn whore!

  1. You can always stop by my house and use my winder and swift if you need to. I don’t mind.

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted December 8, 2008 at 20:59
    • Permalink

    Jenny – LOL, “yarn whore”… I love it. I’m not sure now that “trendy” is the right word, but it’s definitely “the” yarn to have :)

    Chrissy – I just might take you up on that! :) Thanks!


Leave a Reply

