Skip navigation

The Baby Yours is finally, totally finished. The seaming was a breeze, but wow, do I dislike sewing on buttons. Luckily, last time I was at Dressew I picked up a handy little notion called a button clamp. Definitely the smartest two dollar purchase I’ve made in a while (a good illustration can be found here.)

Pretty cute, despite all the annoyance.

Pretty cute, despite all the annoyance.

Overall, I’m a bit on the fence about this one. Lying flat, I’m not a huge fan of the blocky garter stitch shoulders. I think perhaps I’m more of a raglan fan than I realized. That said, it might look infinitely cuter when worn. I’m hoping all the little things about it that bug me will smooth out with blocking, but regardless, it’s a very sweet pattern.

I’m thinking it might be too small for the baby it was intended for – I’ll have to try it on her at Christmas and see. If not, I’ll have to find another wee one to gift it to.

I really need to stop focusing so much on the end result and just enjoy the process – that said, not every project can be your favourite. I’m happy to move on to greener pastures.

But, I should give the sweater its due. Thanks for the challenge, Baby Yours.

Baby Yours by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, in Estelle Arequipa

Baby Yours by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, in Estelle Arequipa

Now to find a baby to wear it...

Now to find a baby to wear it...

3 Comments

  1. Good Grief, you’s kiddin’ right? That’s bloomin’ gorgeous!

    You just wait til you see the oversized pink monstrosity that I need to ping over to France before its 1 year old recipient grows out of it…

    …like when she’s about 13, as my gauge is so OUT! Then you will truly appreciate your own work!

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted November 29, 2008 at 08:35
    • Permalink

    You’re right, you’re right – it’s an adorable pattern. It was just a bit of a headache, and I’m so picky that all the little imperfections in my work drive me nuts.

    I’m ready to admit that my feelings about this sweater aren’t completely rational, lol.

    I don’t hate it – I’m just tired of it. I suppose my posts about it don’t really reflect that I’m fairly proud I could finish it.

    • preita
    • Posted December 1, 2008 at 08:41
    • Permalink

    I think it’s absolutely beautiful. But I totally understand seeing a project so much & working on it so much that you are glad to see it go. I’m on one of those right now!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By slurp! « b i t c h n s t i t c h e s on 11 Mar 2009 at 9:13 am

    […] Posted in Uncategorized by katy on March 11th, 2009 So remember this post, in which I said I would never again knit a baby garment in fingering […]

Leave a Reply

