Skip navigation

Last night I met up with three lovely ladies from my new local knitting group. I had grand plans (yet again) to finish the blasted baby sweater, but alas, they came to naught. I spent the majority of the meeting picking up stitches for the button band, and then dropping them all again. Picking up… dropping. I couldn’t get the corners right to save my life. Frustration ensued.

Luckily, I figured it out by the end of the night and managed to complete it. Now I’m into the final seaming; However, I realized right before putting it away for the evening that I cast off the buttonhole band too tight. I’m not sure blocking will remedy that, but I have yet to decide if I have the desire to fix it.

In other news, this knit night was the most fun (for me) so far. I’m social and I can be quite loud and chatty, but the truth is that I actually get pretty nervous meeting new people. Luckily, the ladies are all very friendly and entertaining and it made for a wonderful night. Rare Knits brought her spinning wheel instead of her knitting, which fascinated me to no end. I think I’ve spotted another future hobby (reserved until I have the time/money/space):

Spinning... hypnotizing.

Hypnotizing.

Made me think of Sleeping Beauty and Rumpelstiltskin... must find a collection of Fairy Tales to read.

It made me think of Sleeping Beauty and Rumpelstiltskin... I really must find a collection of Fairy Tales to read.

I’m really looking forward to the next meetup. I never realized what a solitary activity knitting was for me until I actually met others who do it! And it’s nice to see that Starbucks understands and supports our knit night – as demonstrated through their holiday decor:

Deck the halls with... balls of wool?

Deck the halls with... balls of wool?

I find this choice a bit ridiculous.

I find this choice a bit ridiculous.

And, though it’s a bit ironic coming from a global company with more than 15,000 stores selling the same mass-produced products, I found this sentiment appropriate for the evening:

True dat.

True dat.

5 Comments

    • preita
    • Posted November 21, 2008 at 10:30
    • Permalink

    You sound like me, I’m also extremely loud & very social but it’s hard for me with new people :D Glad your knit night was a success, mine is often the savior of my week! :D

    Your pictures are lovely! I love the yarn garland. I think I might actually have to make one of those for myself! :D

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted November 21, 2008 at 11:15
    • Permalink

    And if you’re like me, do you find that you get louder and chattier the more uncomfortable you feel?

    And thanks for the compliment :) Yarn garland still strikes me as ridiculous, though I do admit it’s rather pretty.

    • scroobious
    • Posted November 21, 2008 at 15:37
    • Permalink

    Loud and chatty but very nervous meeting new people, leading sometimes to even more loudness (and possibly inappropriate jokes)… yup, that’s me too.

    Although I may be alone in the inappropriate jokes thing.

    Anyway, I came here via ORK and your photos are indeed wonderful. I envy your l33t camera skillz! (I love the yarn garland. Why ridiculous?) I also envy you ORK, frankly – we miss her, back here in London. She’s an asset to your knitting group all right.

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted November 22, 2008 at 12:17
    • Permalink

    LOL – I veer closer to “long boring stories that nobody cares to hear,” rather than “inappropriate jokes”… but either can be embarrassing :)

    Thanks for the compliment – always working on the camera skills. My BF is always wondering why I only take pictures of yarn, lol.

    And yes, ORK is lovely. She brightens up knit night to be sure!

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted November 22, 2008 at 18:49
    • Permalink

    ps – I’m not sure why I think it’s ridiculous. Because yarn should be turned into something pretty, not just hung up on the wall? I’ll have to think on it… just a gut reaction :)


Leave a Reply

