Skip navigation

I’ve been wearing the Manitou Passage for a few days now. Today I was smart enough to bring my camera to work with me so that I could take a decent daylight photograph of the results of my de-fuzzing experiment.

My review? Mixed.

As the following photographs will show, there is definitely shedding going on. That said, I think it’s a bit better than it was while I was knitting it. That could be just wishful thinking (likely), or it could also be due to the different use (i.e. just wearing it, vs. manipulating strands of yarn over my clothing for hours at a time). Ultimately, it’s hard to tell, because I never actually wore the scarf before the freezing/blocking experiment. Silly me.

In any case, I would like to enter the following photos into evidence:

Coat - freshly de-linted (although clearly I need a better lint brush...)

Coat - freshly de-linted (although clearly I need a better lint brush...)

In progress - back from lunch.

In progress - back from lunch. Note the blue llama hair on the lapel!

After a bit of purposeful rubbing (in an attempt to simulate an entire days wearing...)

After a bit of purposeful rubbing (in an attempt to simulate an entire day's wearing...)

So yes, still shedding. I suppose that’s what I get for choosing to knit with loosely spun baby llama. Ironically, despite the softness in the skein, it’s actually a little bit scratchy against the skin. Ah well – it’s still cozy and beautiful and my new favourite thing.

Leave a Reply

