Skip navigation

I had high hopes of finishing Baby Yours today, but halfway through my lunch hour knitting session I ran out of yarn. I had been worried this would happen, not because of a yarn shortage (I have another skein) but because of yarn windage (I never remember to ask them to do it for me at the store).

So tonight, rather than knitting the button band and the ONE REMAINING INCH on the second sleeve,  I wound a ball of yarn. I’m not entirely sure how long it’s supposed to take a person to wind 400 metres of sock yarn, but it took me about an hour and a half. I’m thinking this is a little longer than normal?

Arequipa - 1/4 wound (or so)

Then again, I am easily distracted.

I wish I knew the proper etiquette in a local yarn store – if you purchase a skein of yarn, is it standard practice for them to wind it for you? What if you buy, say, six skeins at the same time? Will they wind all six? Are you allowed to use the ball winder and swift yourself? Because it sure is awkward standing there while they do it. I feel like I should tip them or something… but that seems like the wrong thing to do, so instead I thank them profusely. Probably more than is really comfortable.

Regardless, even when I’m only buying one skein, I always seem to forget to ask.

I suppose this is why some prolific knitters invest in a ball winder/swift – but my yarn habit (or lack thereof) doesn’t warrant that. Not to mention, I have no idea where I’d store it in my little one bedroom apartment. There’s a distinct lack of, well, storage.

So for now, it’s just me, my thumb, and a wooden spoon.

Arequipa - 3/4 wound (or so)

Arequipa - 3/4 wound (or so)

Arequipa - wound!

Maybe I’ll finish Baby Yours tomorrow.

2 Comments

  1. Ach, you have my sympathies. Lots of yarn comes in skein format these days. It is why I invested in a cheap ball winder and swift.

    I think that most shops will let you use their winder, if you ask and feel awkard about them doing it for you.

    Otherwise, once the DIY is done, you can always pop round to mine to ball wind, else I can bring my set up to knit night for you…if Starbucks don’t mind!

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted November 19, 2008 at 12:22
    • Permalink

    I stumbled across some great ideas on Ravelry the other day, such as making a swift from a set of tinkertoys:

    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/the-tinkertoy-swift

    And thank you for the offer! I will LOVE to see the look on the faces of the SB employees and patrons if we start bringing things like that along!


Leave a Reply

