Skip navigation

At the end of the summer, as I was going through a difficult time, I decided to allow myself an extravagent project. I chose 5 skeins of Mirasol Miski (100% Baby Llama) and knit a Manitou Passage scarf.

Manitou Passage - Close up

Manitou Passage - Close up

I love the pattern and the end result, and I love the yarn… except for one thing: It sheds.

A lot.

I’ve been reading online to try and find out if there’s a magical cure, but the best I could come up with was an old wives tale about wet blocking and then sticking the offending item in a ziploc in the freezer for a few days.

Well, this sounds like crazy talk to me – but it can’t hurt either. So three nights ago I did exactly that. Tonight I finally took it out of the freezer, to discover I had an awesome blue ice cube on my hands.

Blue furry ice cube

Blue fuzzy ice cube

Stiff blue fuzzy ice cube

Stiff blue fuzzy ice cube

Frosty blue fuzzy ice cube

Frosty blue fuzzy ice cube!

It’s currently blocking. I’ll update on whether or not this little experiment actually helped once I’ve worn it out and about. I’m doubtful, but I have my fingers crossed.

… and a tiny lint brush to put in my pocket, just in case.

Manitou Passage - Blocking

Manitou Passage - Blocking

8 Comments

  1. Hi. I saw your blog advertised on Ravelry. Your pictures are beautiful, and your posts well written. It looks like you are off to a great start!

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted November 17, 2008 at 07:00
    • Permalink

    Thank you!

  2. Love the scarf! I hope the freezing/blocking works, though the blue ice block made me laugh out loud. :)

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted November 17, 2008 at 12:53
    • Permalink

    I know… I almost didn’t take the picture before it melted, I’m glad I realized how ridiculous it was before it was too late!

  3. The scarf looks great on you – but I love the frozen pictures too! My thought on the “freeze to prevent shedding” idea is that it only works until the item defrosts/warms up to room temperature again. (I remember my mum putting a mohair sweater in the freezer back in the 80s!) I might be wrong – please let us know!

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted November 17, 2008 at 14:14
    • Permalink

    A number of people have said that… but my thought is, what’s the point then, how the heck would you wear it frozen! LOL

    Those who believe in it seem to think the act of freezing/defrosting it somehow felts the fibers, securing them better than by blocking alone.

    Doesn’t make a lot of sense to me, but it was worth a try, lol.

  4. love your blog. Knit picks are my favorites. I love the Harmony the best! Did your baggie trick work?

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted November 17, 2008 at 20:04
    • Permalink

    cici – thank you!

    The baggie trick… well, the jury is still out on that one. I began the testing phase today and there will be a post shortly!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By the fuzz « b i t c h n s t i t c h e s on 19 Nov 2008 at 9:45 pm

    […] in Uncategorized I’ve been wearing the Manitou Passage for a few days now. Today I was smart enough to bring my camera with me to work so that I could […]

Leave a Reply

