Skip navigation

I usually pride myself on not having a stash. Even the word bothers me – I think because it’s trendy knitting lingo, and the minute something I love becomes trendy it also becomes, on some level, irritating.

I know knitting has been trendy for some time now, but it wasn’t until I joined (and got hooked on) Ravelry that I had reason to notice. I’m not trying to say its popularity makes me unhappy (on the contrary), nor am I one of those holier-than-thou knitters who “liked it before it was trendy” (I’m certainly not). It really is, quite simply, that the trendy vocabulary annoys me.

It reminds me of the short time I lived in Whistler for a ski season. I distinctly remember not being able to stand all the kids who lived there saying things like, “whoa dude, I totally shredded the gnar today, it was sooooo sick.”

But I digress.

Beyond petty annoyances, I don’t really like the concept of a stash because I don’t really like hoarding anything. I grew up in a house loaded with stuff, and what lesson did it teach me? The more stuff you have, the more stuff you have to clean up. And the fewer places you have to put it. And the less money you have to buy the things you really need. Etc.

So, imagine my horror when I updated my “stash” page on Ravelry today (something I haven’t bothered doing before) and discovered that I now have 16 different yarns worth photographing and listing. And more than one ball of most of these. No longer do I simply have half-skeins of leftovers from past projects, and perhaps a ball or two of poorly chosen wool that was never used. No, now I have a full-on stash.

I’m not sure if it counts as “stash” if you have a project in mind for it, and a due date, but… a cupboard full of yarn is a cupboard full of yarn. I wish I could stick to my high ideals and say this made me unhappy… but really, there’s nothing unhappy about two big shoeboxes full of colourful squishy yarn.

Here are my most recent purchases:

Malabrigo Worsted - For a slouchy beret (and so I can finally see what all the fuss is about!)

Malabrigo Worsted - For a slouchy beret (and so I can finally see what all the fuss is about!)

Cascade 220 Heathers - For my asymmetrical cabled cardi

Cascade 220 Heathers - For my asymmetrical cabled cardi

Sandnes Garn Sisu - For my iPhone cozy project

Cascade 220 for my brothers christmas present...

Cascade 220 - For a Christmas present...

2 Comments

  1. Now I think that you can relax and simply think of yourself as an organised knitter rather than as a trendy stasher without a cause.

    You have not been a magpie, randomly collecting pretty things that will sit around until you can think of something to do with them. No, you have been proactive and lined up materials in advance for processing in an orderly fashion. You have made sure that you have your supplies in ahead of time, so that the moment you are ready, you can strike…

    …the only problem that you may run into, is accummulation of projects so far into the future that when you think it through, you have 5 years of solid knitting ahead of you!

    (Yeah – okay, you are right – no matter what you call it or how you justify it, a cupboard full of yarn, is still a cupboard full of yarn. Welcome to the Stash Category of Knitter!)

    • bitchnstitches
    • Posted November 13, 2008 at 23:16
    • Permalink

    I think you’re right though – I just need to relax and go with it.

    … I just don’t want to go with it until I have a whole closet full of yarn! LOL

    Trouble is I’m quite messy and a terrible procrastinator…


Leave a Reply

